4-20 mA sensor read

Hi

I have made a setup like this to read the milliamps from my 4-20 mA pressure transducer. Do you think it will work or I will gonna be in trouble? (I am not very good with electronics, I just passed some course in highschool 15 years ago :slight_smile:

Best regards

Zeedo

IMG_1404.JPG

First please provide a link to your pressure transducer. Without that, it's a shot in the dark.

Hi Power_Broker

It is this item:

the specific model number is : 692902007141 which gives this spec:

0 ... 0.2 bar max. 1.2 bar Sealing material FPM Fluoro elastomer Adjustment Factory

Important: Output / power supply 4 ... 20 mA 11 ... 33 VDC

Connector 3) DIN EN 175301-803-A

Screw fitting CuZn nickel plated for pipe outside ± 6 mm

Looks good to me. Have fun and good luck!

Have a look at the rugged Arduino or industrino web sites - they show over voltage protection circuitry to protect analog inputs against faults , you might want to consider that.

You would usually put the sense resistor on the other side of the sensor, so the Arduino ground is connected to the 24V ground. The sensor ground is then always within 5V of the ‘real’ ground.

There’s no protection in this circuit if the 24V supply is connected backwards or connected to 110V. Depending on where you are using this and the skillful inventiveness of the people using it, you should consider adding more protection.

Thank you all for your great answers,

Yap, it is better if I put the resistor after the transducer.

What can be used for protection? A diode? A fuse?

The MAX14626 is a good protection chip, if you feel you need that level of protection. Like I said, it depends on the inventiveness of the users. Often that's just me and then I do need to protect against stupid things.