4 sensors, 5 stepper motors and 2 linear actuators with feedback

Hi there,

I am very new to the Arduino and am looking for a way to control 5 stepper motors and 2 linear actuators with feedback.
I want to control those based on readings from 4 sensors.

Is there a shield that can help me expand Arduino to have enough pins?
4 of the 5 motors should be in sync. So same controls would be send to 4 stepper motors (NEMA 17 and maybe 4 DRV8825), 2 linear actuators and single stepper motor (NEMA 23).

I want to be able to read 4 sensors (LDR) and the feedback from the potentiometers in the linear actuators.

Thanks!

If 4 steppers move in sync, then they can share the same Arduino pins. With those stepper drivers, as little as 2 Arduino pins are required. So that's 4 pins for all your steppers. For the linear actuators, you will need some h-bridges, also requiring 2 Arduino pins each. So that's 8 Arduino digital outputs, plus 6 analog inputs for the LDRs and feedback from the linear actuators. Most types of Arduino have enough pins for what you need. Why do you believe you need to expand the number of pins?

Hello
Take a view into the WWW by using a search engine of your decession and with the input: Arduino Solar Tracker.
Good luck.

Wasn't sure. If it happens that those 4 motors actually have to move separately, is it still doable? I am very new to the whole thing so thought that maybe I need some kind of a shield to expand it. All the motors are 12V. I still need to learn a lot, but since I have to get the parts needed quite soon, I wanted to make sure I am not missing anything. Also it might happen that this project will expand and some additional sensors might be required.

Thanks for the reply.

Thanks for the solar tracker tip. Definitely helped!

There are a lot of solutions available.
I propose to take a local clock to provide the azimuth and elevation angle precissly.