4 Wire stepper motor

Hi everyone, I’m new to the message board, and relatively new to Arduino. I am working on a project which I took a bi polar stepper motor out of a scanner. Its really tiny and would serve my purpose perfectly, but it is 4 wires and I have no idea how to control it. I don’t have any motor drivers, but if I need one I could go purchase one. Please help me figure out how to work this little beauty

Welcome.

Here is a good place to start, and you might also find this useful.

Hungryman00: Please help me figure out how to work this little beauty

I would start by measuring the coil resistance as that will give you some idea of the max current that would flow for a given voltage. But it won't tell you the maximum safe current so the smoke doesn't escape.

I don't know if it is so small that it could be driven direct from the Arduino I/O pins (about 20mA of current) - there was another Thread here a few months ago about a tiny stepper that could do that.

...R

Typically these small steppers need 50mA to 100mA or so, beyond the power of a single Arduino pin (you could perhaps common up pairs of pins and use direct port manipulation, but you still need 8 schottky diodes for free-wheeling, which is cumbersome unless you can use these surface mount bus-protectors: QSBT40 http://www.diodes.com/datasheets/ds30195.pdf

There are little motor controller chips that directly drive these motors, again surface mount...

Hey guys thanks for the help so far, I think I probably need a motor controller, even though i have the diodes, it looks confusing.

I have it hooked up to a small power supply right now with Arduino controlling two transistors that alternate each coil. The motor is responding but I cannot get it to make a full revolution. I read the link from the first response and it said something like you have to power up 2 coils at once(?), but it looked like it was referencing a unipolar motor.