4051 Multiplexer RFID Antenna

I’m trying to multiplex the antenna output of the RFID board I have to multiple antennas so I can determine which one is being read. Of course I can have more readers but I’m trying to save money.

I can get the multiplexer working with just normal voltage applied to the input with the LEDs turning on at their designated slots. Currently I have it changing the output every 100ms.

When I try to connect the antenna from the RFID board the LEDs (I’m only using them to test but not in the final design) they no longer follow the sequence but twinkle. They mostly stay on with a slight dimming every now and then but not in the correct sequence.

I can get multiple external antenna working fine without the multiplexer but of course I can’t then tell them apart.

I’m quite new to antenna design so have no idea why or what is happening here.

Attached is a sketch of my wiring and a photo of how i connected to the antenna on the RFID board.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Multiplexer Board Layout.png

34cf112c414ce262e89c24749465404a0a241259.png
9053839081dd1aba9e4e3b69a9b7c1b207249250.jpg

I’m pretty sure 4051 will not work at rf frequencies. You may have to spend that extra cash.

Thanks for posting the pics.
It’s like the 4051 stops working correctly and stops switching to the different outputs when the antenna is connected. I have no idea why as i though each output is isolated?

Are there any alternatives that could work instead? I’m probably going to want around 8 of these and at $10 each on ebay I’m not sure I want that many.

Can you post a schematic diagram, a complete one? I'm not sure I understand what it is you are trying to use the 4051 to switch.

Hi Paul,

Here is an updated schematic.

Im trying to have it cycle through the external antenna so when something is read on one I will know what antenna was active at that time so I know where the card was read.

Multiplexer Board Layout.png