55W Halogen Light Mosfet Arduino Beetle

Hi guys,
first of all I'm quite new to all of this and therefore I'm wandering around aimlessly.

I want to use a Arduino Beetle and a Mosfet to regulate a Halogen Light that has 55W on a 12V System.
I'm using the D9 Pin, which I think is the same on the Leonardo and works with 4.5kHz PWM (???).

This is basically what I did. But I'm using a IRF3708.

My issue is that the Mosfet is getting way to hot and since I want to use potting compound to seal all of this, I think it won't be great to have it so hot...
Which Logic Level Mosfet do you guys recommend ?

Thanks for your help and time ! Regards!

The one in your schematic RFP30N06LE should be OK. RDS(on) 5V = 0.047Ohms. But the one you are using IRF3708 also would appear OK on paper with an even better rating at 4.5 volt.
However, I think your switching frequency may be too high meaning that the mosfet is often not fully switched. For a light, important is only that it is high enough to prevent flicker. You could also add a 150 ohm (or so) resistor in series with the gate to limit the inrush current.

Is it for use in a vehicle ? If so a P Channel mosfet may be a better choice because you can ground the light near the mounting position and run only one wire to it.

Kurtisane:
Hi guys,
first of all I'm quite new to all of this and therefore I'm wandering around aimlessly.

I want to use a Arduino Beetle and a Mosfet to regulate a Halogen Light that has 55W on a 12V System.
I'm using the D9 Pin, which I think is the same on the Leonardo and works with 4.5kHz PWM (???).

This is basically what I did. But I'm using a IRF3708.

My issue is that the Mosfet is getting way to hot and since I want to use potting compound to seal all of this, I think it won't be great to have it so hot...
Which Logic Level Mosfet do you guys recommend ?

Thanks for your help and time ! Regards!