6 axis robot arm basic set up

Hi,

I am new to this so forgive me in advance. I recently purchased a R5 6 axis robot arm off of a ebay along with a 880 slot breadboard and a UNO R3 board. I also have a universal power adapter that I would like to split to connect to the breadboard as an external power source. I haven't received everything yet but I would have it planned in advanced.

1. Will my set up work?

I will have the universal power adapter set to 6v and stripped to expose the positive and negative. This will be connected to my breadboard's + and GND.

There will be a GND cable from the breadboard to the Arduino. I think I should have the USB plugged in to supply the Arduino while the universal power adapter is acting as an external power source. Is this correct? or should I be using 9v batteries like I see in examples?

The Servos of the Arm will be connected to the GND and + terminals of the breadboard as well as the PWM slots of the Arduino.

1. I also want to set up the arm to be teachable.

(Ex. Teach 'Arduino 6-axis robot arm' new positions with your hands (recording and playing back) - YouTube)

What does it mean to connect the Center pins of the servo potentiometers to the arduino analog input pins? Are there other ways to make the arm teachable?

Thank you for any help.

or should I be using 9v batteries like I see in examples?

If you have wall power, why would you even consider batteries?

Keep in mind that your breadboard may have 2 power rails and two ground rails (or even 4, depending on how big it is).

What does it mean to connect the Center pins of the servo potentiometers to the arduino analog input pins?

How else is the Arduino supposed to know where the servo is? That is, how is it supposed to know where a joint is?

GGMechanics:
2) I also want to set up the arm to be teachable.

Standard RC servos do not support this, since they do not have readable feedback to the arduino about their position.