Master-Slave Robotic Arm using Potentiometers

Hi there,
I'm very new to Arduino. I recently saw a couple videos that have sparked my interest in using Arduino, these two in particular:

I'm trying to figure out what parts I would need to buy in order to do this. I think I need 6 servos and 6 potentiometers, but further than that, I have no idea what I'm doing. Can somebody lead me in the right direction on what parts I'll need and any other advice concerning this project?

Oh and also, I have a set of vex servos, can I use them with Arduino?

If you only want to make an electronically controlled pantograph, I imagine that you could do that by having a hinged mechanism with a servo at each pivot, and an equivalent one with a potentiometer at each joint. Make each servo track the position of each potentiometer, and that seems to be what you're after.

In its simplest form, given that servos are controlled by a PWM signal, all you need is a PWM generator for each joint that has the pulse width determined by the pot position. That should be easy enough to achieve with an NE555 timer.

If the arm is bigger/heavier then the inertia of the arm itself may become an issue; do avoid destroying your servos you would want to arrange for the arm to be more-or-less neutrally balanced, and have a control algorithm which managed the acceleration/deceleration to keep the loads within the capability of the servo rather than just telling it to snap to a position and hope it won't shred the gears. If you are planning to use that sort of approach, I'd suggest using a PID algorithm and an Arduino would be an ideal platform to run it on.

Okay I'm going to sound kind of dumb here, but what parts exactly should I buy?
I honestly have no idea what I'm doing and I want to learn through this project.

This is the list I currently have:
Arduino Duemilanove
Breadboard Jumper Wire Bundle
Half-Size Breadboard
Male to Female Servo wires (for pots) - x6