7-SEGMENT COUNTER 0-99 with 74HC595

Hi
I am trying to make a counter(0-99) with 2 digit 7-segment display(common cathode) and the two pushbuttons, one for increment by 1 and one for decrement by 1.
I found this code on the internet but I didnt find a way to use it with my 7-seg display so I decided to use a single shift register driving the segments (anodes) and 2 digital i/o pins each driving a NPN transistor to switch in each cathode one at a time.

Now I have to modify the code to drive these transistors that will switch in each cathode at a certain time.
I am still learning programming and I am not so sure how to do this properly so any help is welcome :wink:

This is the code I have:

const byte  latchPin = 5;  // Pin connected to Pin 12 of 74HC595 (Latch)
const byte dataPin  = 6;   // Pin connected to Pin 14 of 74HC595 (Data)
const byte clockPin = 7;   // Pin connected to Pin 11 of 74HC595 (Clock)

const byte upPin = 2;     // pushbutton attached to pin 2
const byte downPin = 3;   // pushbutton attached to pin 3

int prevUpState = 0;
int prevDownState = 0;
int currUpState = 1;
int currDownState = 1;

int counter = 0;           // initialise counter as zero

byte numberOfDigits = 2;

const byte numbers[10] =   // Describe each digit in terms of display segments  0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
{
  B11111100, //0
  B01100000, //1
  B11011010, //2
  B11110010, //3
  B01100110, //4
  B10110110, //5
  B10111110, //6
  B11100000, //7
  B11111110, //8
  B11110110, //9
};

void setup()
{
  pinMode(latchPin, OUTPUT);   // set SR pins to output
  pinMode(clockPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(dataPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(upPin, INPUT);      // sets pin 12 as pushbutton INPUT
  pinMode(downPin, INPUT);    // sets pin 13 as pushbutton INPUT
}

void loop()
{
  //counter part
  currUpState = digitalRead(upPin);

if (prevUpState != currUpState)           // has the state changed from HIGH to LOW or vice versa
  {