Adaptive Camouflage Project

Hi friends,

I need help regarding a project I’m working on for school. I’m not entirely sure how to approach it. I have moderate experience with Arduino/Processing/OpenFrameworks.I have access though to highly experienced professors to help.

The idea for the project I had was to have a sensor such as maybe the color detector sensor - SEN-11195 (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11195). Though I have no experience with it and I’m not entirely sure if it would work for my concept. The concept is to have a color touch sensor attached to my hand and whatever I touch it would recognize the color in a value and transfer that value to programmable LED strips that would change the color to that (not entirely sure if that would work on it’s own either).

I’m hoping this is accomplishable by Arduino as I have no Raspberry Pi experience but if I could do it with a raspberry Pi a hell of a lot quicker then I have no problem learning it.

In addition if there is a better way to approach this project any suggestions would be really helpful!!

This is the inspiration video - something relating to this but accomplishable by Arduino hopefully and not as expensive as using OLEDs.

Here is a basic sketch I just did a few minutes ago. It’s still under development and in very initial stages. I wanted it to be in a clothing form.

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10904

Also just saw this - Color Sensor Breakout - HDJD-S822. This could help as well!

What I'm struggling with is how to approach this if at all possible. Not many examples out there on this, strange because it's a very cool concept.