Advice on DC Motor...

Hello all

I'm new to hobby electronics and Arduino - so be gentle with me :)

I set myself a target of building a wall avoiding robot, so thought I'd buy a car chassis kit to start me off, this one in fact: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10825

The motors (48:1) seem woefully underpowered, and the bot struggles to move around my lounge carpet.

Now I was thinking of getting these motors as replacements: http://www.hobbytronics.co.uk/motor-control/motors-general/mm-gear-motor-100

Now, my questions are: 1) Are my choice of new motors a good one? 2) What exactly does the ratio mean with regards to these type of small DC motors?

I'd like the bot to nip around my floors quite quickly, not moving like a slug and failing to turn!

All answers gratefully appreciated!

:)

How are you powering the motors and motor controller? Which motor controller?

Carpet isn't easy to move on. Part of the problem is that huge ball roller. It is heavy and will tend to sink into carpet. I suggest making something out of delrin, something much flatter and larger in its contact area with the carpet.

The wheels should also be larger diameter. If this only has to move on carpet, something hard with some short spikes.

On second thought, I'd redesign this from scratch. Look at a Roomba: Nothing small and heavy is pressing into the carpet.

polymorph: Carpet isn't easy to move on. Part of the problem is that huge ball roller. It is heavy and will tend to sink into carpet. I suggest making something out of delrin, something much flatter and larger in its contact area with the carpet.

The wheels should also be larger diameter. If this only has to move on carpet, something hard with some short spikes.

On second thought, I'd redesign this from scratch. Look at a Roomba: Nothing small and heavy is pressing into the carpet.

Yeah, I thought that also, I was hoping that a bit more oomph from the motors would alleviate the problem.