Advice on first project

Hello everyone,

I hope this is the right forum to post this area in the forum to post this to.

I'm starting a project to create a wireless race timer and I want to make sure I'm getting hardware that is compatible because I was looking in the comments section and someone mentioned it might not be.

Here's the setup.

I wireless transmitter for a start timer, a wireless transmitter for stop timer, and a receiver to connect to a pc.

Here is my hardware list

2 arduino unos http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9950
2 xbee shields SparkFun XBee Shield - WRL-12847 - SparkFun Electronics
3 xbee 60mW http://www.sparkfun.com/products/8690
1 explorer board http://www.sparkfun.com/products/8687

Is this hardware compatible? Arduino was suggested elsewhere, but I want to make sure it'll work together before I buy it. I know almost nothing about electronics. I studied computer science and we don't really get training in electronics.

Thanks in advance,
-Nate

edit: 3 xbee

You have two xBee modules, and 3 places to "mount" them (the two shields and the explorer board). I am not exactly sure how you expect to use them.(OP updated his list)

If you want to have both units wireless, I believe you need an individual receiver for each unit (can someone else please varify this? I have never tried this, but the projects I am familiar with which use xBee work this way.).

If you only want one of the two units wireless, you can simply connect the second arduino to your computer via usb and you have no need for the explorer board.

You have two xBee modules, and 3 places to "mount" them

The list in the post prior to yours show 3 XBees.

OP: What range are you needing from the XBees? What kind of race are you timing? Indoors or outdoors?

What will the Arduino's be doing? You may not need any Arduinos (or shields) at all. The XBees have some digital IO pins, like the Arduino, and can read, and transmit, switch info directly.

Hello,