Alternative serial monitor display

I would like to display the status of 7 sensors in a small serial monitor window in the corner of my desktop without running Arduino. I am fairly new to Adruino and would like to know the best way to proceed. Any assistance would be much appreciated.

There are many free serial terminal programs you can take your pick of as an alternative to the Arduino IDE's Serial Monitor. Or, if you prefer, you could write your own in your favorite programming language.

Consider programs such as PuTTY, RealTerm or minicom

…R

Thanks for the replies guys, as I said, I have my Arduino sketch which works fine looking at the Arduino serial monitor and just need the output displayed on a small window on my desktop without Arduino running. I have just had a look at some of these programs but wouldn't know where to start in getting them to read from the USB output from the Arduino and indeed whether or not I can have a small window showing only the status of the sensors. The Processing Language would do the job but that's another language to learn. I guess I'm looking for an easy fix when there may not be one for someone as inexperienced as I am. I will try a couple of the programs and see how it goes. Any further pointers most welcome

Thanks

S