Analog inputs not working properly

Hi everyone!

I'm using an Arduino Uno board and I'm having some problems with analog inputs. I have tried measuring the voltage applied to the analog pin, but regardless of the voltage supplied, I would get weird results every time. I'm using analogRead for this, and always would get the result between 350 and 360. If I connect the pin to 5V, analogRead returns values varying around 360. If I connect it to GND, I get values around 350. I can't figure out why I don't get 0 when analog pin is connected to GND, and 1023 when it is connected to 5V. Here's my code:

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(A0, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
  int sensorValue = analogRead(A0);
  Serial.println(sensorValue);
  delay(10);
}

I have tried this with all the analog inputs. Does that mean that something is wrnog with my board? Any help is appreciated.

Hey, I'm quite new to this myself so could be completely wrong, but why are you reading A0? doesn't this mean pin 160?

I have been following this tutorial: https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/AnalogReadSerial. According to it, everything should work as it is. When I try connecting my analog input to different voltages, I do get slightly different results, but not the correct ones. I am really new to this, could you explain how it is pin 160 and how to use that in code?

grobocop: I have been following this tutorial: https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/AnalogReadSerial. According to it, everything should work as it is. When I try connecting my analog input to different voltages, I do get slightly different results, but not the correct ones. I am really new to this, could you explain how it is pin 160 and how to use that in code?

Ah! But you have not followed the tutorial. Your line 3 does not exist in the tutorial. You are issuing a digital I/O configuration against your analog. What happens if you follow the example without the PinMode command?