Anti theft and carjacking car alarm

Hi!

My name is Pierre, I’m from France, I like to build things myself and work on cars or RC things (planes, boats, cars…)

I’m fairly new to Arduino which I’m discovering with the projects from the book it came with and this will be my first real project for an everyday use.

I’m starting this topic to show what I’m doing and maybe help other people with a similar project and also to benefit from constructive criticism from people on the forum.

The Project :

Since I couldn’t find on the Internet a device simple and matching my needs for an affordable price I decided to build my own alarm system for my classic car (1994 Rover Mini Cooper).

What I want is that if someone breaks in the car and hotwire it (I thinks that’s how you guys say it ;)), the Arduino will start the hazard lights after something like 5 minutes, then after another minute turn the horn ON and OFF and at last after another minute shut the engine off (by cutting either the fuel pump or the ignition).

Ideally I would like the system to be reset by a combination of two buttons.

The Arduino will be powered by a step down 5 or 3 volt supply and the signal to set the alarm will come from the door switch (for the interior lights) and the 12V ignition (I don’t want the alarm to start if I forget my phone into the car or my wife her purse).

The alarm would also be useful in case of a carjacking because if someone opens the door and the ignition is ON, the alarm will start.

I played a little with the code and built a small scale circuit with 4LEDs and 4 switches and it’s working well for now.

//Global Variables
const int doorSwitch = 2; // our door signal
const int ignitionSwitch = 3; // our ignition signal
const int button1 = 4; // our button 1
const int button2 = 5; // our button 2
const int LED = 13; // to ON LED
const int hazard = 12; // to hazard lights
const int horn = 11; // to car horn
const int relay = 10; // to latchning relay (cuts off fuel pump)