Arduino Electronic countdown timer for rocket launcher

Hi guys,

I am new to electronics and I have been wanting to design a countdown timer to automatically fire my rocket igniters.

Here is the youtube link

Here is the schematics for it

the equipment required would be:

Arduino UNO R3 (recommended for beginners with Arduino)
7 segment Serial Display
10k potentiometer
yellow arcade button
piezo buzzer
protoboard / protoshield
missile switch cover
LED lights
10k ohm resistors
N-channel Fets
9V batteries
resistors
5V relay
tupperware box or 3D printed case for the electronics

my questions which come to mind are

The capacitor acts like a small battery correct?
the n-channel transistor what does this actually do?
the 1N4001 what does this do?
the 5V relay what does that do? switch currents?

do all the negative wires connect to just 1 GND slot or do I use a separate GND slot for each jumper wire? do I use a breadboard for this whole thing or a protoboard?
I wish this schematic included a diagram of how to setup the jumper wires.

These resistors with varying Ohms… why not use a standard 460ohms resistors for the entire circuit board? I know this sounds like a stupid question but I don’t know electronics well enough to answer this question. Appreciate all the help.

lucifer911: The capacitor acts like a small battery correct?

Sort of yes. But if you are referring to the capacitor connected to the speaker, this is to block the DC offset coming from the Arduino. Speakers only care about AC signals so adding a capacitor blocks DC and allows AC to the speaker (which causes it to vibrate). If the resistor and capacitor were not there, the speaker wouldn't work very well and may overload your Arduino or burn out the speaker as it has little resistance.

the n-channel transistor what does this actually do?