Arduino IO Expansion Basics? *rephrased

Hi guys!

I want to double my Arduino IO. When I search for Arduino Expander, I2C connection is always suggested.
I'm new to I2C and I've only tested Multiple Arduino connections (I used 4 Arduinos: 1Master, 3Slaves).
It took me a week to execute the code I wanted :roll_eyes:

The questions are...
If I will use an expander suggested here Arduino Playground - I2CPortExpander8574,
can I program micro controller without having to upload them to the Arduinos one by one?
What are your suggested expander if I want minimum of 20 IO(analog and digital pins)?

Note: I'm using Arduino uno

Clarify the IO needed. Analog In (ADC), Analog Out (DAC), Digital In, Digital Out?

CrossRoads:
Clarify the IO needed. Analog In (ADC), Analog Out (DAC), Digital In, Digital Out?

Shouldn't the code identify the input/output? (sorry, I don't know)
16 Analog, 24 Digital so...
~ 8 Analog In, 8 Analog Out
12 Digital In, 12 Digital Out

We seem to have lost your plot when you start talking about using multiple Arduinox. That gets to be a rather complex field.

You can add many I2C port expanders to add digital ports, 8 or 16 (ports) at a time. You can also get I2C ADCs and DACs, many of them considerably superior to those in the Arduino itself, and various other devices.

But they generally connect to one Arduino. So what's all this about multiple Arduinox?

Sorry, what I mean in multiple Arduino connection is connecting the SDA and SCL of 4 Arduinos--1 functioning as master and 3 as slaves.

What I want to know is...
Is the process the same in connecting the "multiple arduino" and expander?--where in the "multiple arduino", I connect all of their SDA and SCL and upload the code to each arduino-- because I want to expand my IO without having to upload a code to each arduino.

connect all of their SDA and SCL and upload the code to each arduino

How do you do that? Do you have a bootloader that can handle I2C?