Arduino UNO R4 uploading firmware

So, I just got the Arduino UNO R4 wifi and was trying to test connecting to my Wi-Fi with the example code given in the wifiS3 examples, but it said I needed to upgrade my firmware. I'm pretty new to all this so I just looked up how to do that and it brought me to this UNO R4 WiFi Custom Firmware Upload to ESP32 (Advanced) | Arduino Documentation I realized later that this actually was for flashing custom firmware and that you can just upgrade the firmware with the firmware tool in Arduino IDE :confused: . Anyways I was following the steps and got all the way to the part where it says erase flash memory and managed to do that but now my Arudino IDE recognizes my uno R4 as the ESP32 and I can't actually upload anything anymore ad the RX stays on :frowning: . Im pretty sure I just need to upload the correct firmware the same way I erased the firmware but Im not exactly sure how to do that I would not like to mess my board up more than I already have :cry: . If anyone could help save my board it will be much appreciated. I can also provide more details from what I have tried and how the board ended up this way.

Welcome to the forum

You started a topic in the Uncategorised category of the forum

Your topic has been moved to a relevant category

Also, I've been trying to follow this [Update the connectivity module firmware on UNO R4 Wi-Fi – Arduino Help Center] (https://support.arduino.cc/hc/en-us/articles/9670986058780-Update-the-connectivity-module-firmware-on-UNO-R4-WiFi#espflash) and this:

Short the upload pins for the esp32s3 then connect it to the USB port, install python then:

pip3 install esptool

esptool --chip esp32s3 --port <com port> erase_flash

esptool --chip esp32s3 --port <com port> write_flash -z 0 <firmware.bin>

Use the .bin file you find inside the zip here:

https://github.com/arduino/uno-r4-wifi-usb-bridge/releases/download/0.2.0/unor4wifi-update-windows.zip