Older topic with R4 WIFI renewed?

I've had 2 Uno R4 WIFI boards for about 2 months now . They have been nothing but trouble from day one. I always get frustrated and put them down to move on to more productive stuff. I have tried every suggestion I've read in these forums to no avail. the "update bat " process doesn't even see the boards. click any key and then the terminal window closes. Arduino IDE now thinks my boards are WiFiduino32s3. If I leave that setting I can upload a basic blink sketch but of course nothing happens . If I manually select the board and com port it hangs in the uploading mode for eons (over 10 minutes) then I close the IDE. I can't upgrade or downgrade the firmware. Please note I have 4 R3's and a few other smaller boards and all is fine . I'm not a pro at this by any means but can follow instructions. Running Windows 10 home Pro. I've seen in here that many people have had similar problems which ( like mine ) commonly start with " no device on com XXX"
These boards seem so badly bricked now that i fear they will never come back to life . Correct me if I'm wrong but I can see nothing new and since they won't accept firmware update it seems like I'm screwed no matter what . I understand that with any new technology there are commonly bumps in the road but this is getting a bit irritating
. Is there something new that I've missed?

I have moved your topic to the Uno R4 WiFi category of the forum as it is more appropriate than its original category

1 Like

Try the suggestion " Run espflash directly, after the last step, disconnect the board and then remove the jumper wire before connecting it back to your machine.

1 Like

I've done as suggested on both boards. Same results for both
After running cmd The bottom statement was "the system cannot find the file specified (os error 2)