Arduino vs Phidgets

Hi,

I have experience with Phidgets and none with Arduino. Actually, phidgets is ALL i know, for I am a programmer without a clue programming ANY type of physical thing. I like phidgets because I can use one of my favorite languages (C++,AS3) and the direct interaction with the PC. This is also the main drawback: the computer is always needed. This makes an outdoor setup much more complicated. The arduino documentation mentiones “uploading” your program and connecting an adapter.
Does this mean you could do without the host computer after you uploaded your app?
Does this also mean you are limited in processing power, api-functions and memory usage compared to the host computer?
What about when using the BlueTooth version?

Thanks,
Micha

Once you’ve uploaded your sketch, it can function with minimum components as shown in this link

http://art364.pbwiki.com/Standalone+Arduino

The Arduino “can” send and receive data to/from a host computer. It can do so via USB, or wirelessly, like the BT.

But it isn’t dependent on a pc, it can function autonomously and control other devices without a computer, and there is no loss of api-functions or memory.

I’ve got experience with Phidgets (long since tossed) and modtronix (the method of resetting doesn’t get any harder) and the Arduino in a variety of flavors, NG / BT / Lilypad / RBBB, and can say with certainty that it’s difficult to beat the Arduino for price and ease of use.

The language is based on C/C++ so you’ll be comfortable with the IDE, and you’ll find there’s a lot more going on here in terms of what people are doing with the Arduino, than over at Phidgets or any of the others, so there’s a great deal of reference material and coding examples, plus a substantial and active international community that’s usually more than happy to help.

Hi John,

thanks for your reply.

Bare with me … I’m true n00b willing to learn. What I understand from the URL you provided: