ATtiny85 how to program without bootloader

Hello everyone!

I know this might be answered somewhere but whatever i found online and tried had no success. Since im new to that i cannot combine info from different tutorials etc.

I have an arduino nano and a mega(missing the cable for mega so lets forget that for today, everything is closed due to coronovirus) and a YSUMA01-341A which i found on my old room and it seems to be usb to serial etc.

From what i read online, dont know if im wrong, but to program an attiny85 with arduino as programmer i need to burn bootloader to my chip. Which is something id like to avoid for now.

So using my usb serial board how to program my attiny85 using arduino IDE?

For now I only managed to download attiny boards for arduino IDE from https://raw.githubusercontent.com/damellis/attiny/ide-1.6.x-boards-manager/package_damellis_attiny_index.json.

Please find attached the settings i have on my arduino IDE.

Thanks everyone in advance

Best Regards,
Chris

attiny.png

Burning a bootloader to the tiny85 can do 2 things. It can install firmware to enable programming via Serial and set the fuses for the chip setup. You do not have to install the serial programming software, but the fuses must be set if the chip is to be used with anything other than the factory defaults for oscillator and other options.

So using my usb serial board how to program my attiny85 using arduino IDE?

The bootloader cannot be installed with serial, it must be installed with the ICSP pins. See this page (done with an Uno, but uses the same pins on a Nano).

I prefer the SpenceKonde ATTinyCore. In my opinion the ATTinyCore is easier to use and has better functionality.

Hi. Thanks for your info. What does it mean to set fuses for chip setup? Thank you

Perhaps this tutorial can explain what the fuses do and how and why that they are set.