ATtiny85 not working on battery power

Hi,

I'm trying to get my Attiny85 to run on battery power but I cannot seem to do it.

It runs just fine when plugged into the USB programmer and functions as expected. However, placing the attiny85 onto the breadboard and giving it some power does nothing. I've tried using 2 AAA batteries to supply it and I've tried a coin cell CR2032 all to no avail.

The code is a simple blink sketch:

void setup() {
  pinMode(1, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  digitalWrite(1, HIGH);
  delay(500);
  digitalWrite(1, LOW);
  delay(500);
}

Here is a picture of the set up:

Now here we have the Attiny85 in the programmer board (HW-260), hooked up to the laptop and the program executes as expected:

I'm quite new to all this so I don't have much clue about what is going on. Also, I currently do not have access to a multimeter.

I've even tried flipping the LED.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Where is the current limiting resistor for the LED?

Failing to use one can destroy the processor chip. Try 1K Ohms.

I have inserted the 1k Ohm resistor. The LED made a very dim flash but still doesn't blink.

Still blinks plugged into laptop though.

You also need to solder header pins to the processor board. The holes in the board do not otherwise provide reliable connections.

There are plenty of good soldering tutorials on line (e.g. Adafruit and Sparkfun).

Edit: I was looking at the wrong photo, but I can't tell from either photo how the processor chip is mounted in the breadboard.

Is there anything else I could do?

I also do not currently have access to a soldering iron.

Double check whether the processor chip is correctly inserted in the breadboard and is making good connections. A multimeter with continuity check is an essential tool for this hobby. So is a soldering pencil.

The processor chip requires a 100 nF bypass capacitor across power and ground, as close to the chip as possible.

1 Like