Bedroom automation help

Hello fellow arduino users!!

My current project is to make my bedroom automated using voice commands. Since im very new to this project and im currently in the planning phase..i have no idea how to actually connect ceiling fixtures such as, a simple lightbulb to the arduino or relays.. What im trying to ask here is: How can i connect a light bulb thats connected to the ceiling fixtures to an arduino or relay? I have searched all over the web for answers and tips but I have no luck.....all comments, tips, and suggestions will be considered. Thanks all in advance.

IMO, the safest, simplest and cheapest way would be to use something like this http://www.httbuy.com/remote-to-e27-base-socket-adapter-holder-rf-wireless-switch-control-light-bulb-lamp-110v-250v.html and use the arduino to send appropriate RF commands to it. No messing with the existing wiring.

So you are saying to use a remote controlled socket and let the arduino control the remote? Can’t I just connect the existing wires that is connected to the wall switch and connect them to the relay?

TouristySeeker8: So you are saying to use a remote controlled socket and let the arduino control the remote? Can't I just connect the existing wires that is connected to the wall switch and connect them to the relay?

Not unless you are absolutely 100% positive you know what you are doing; those high voltages can very easily kill you.

TouristySeeker8: So you are saying to use a remote controlled socket and let the arduino control the remote? Can't I just connect the existing wires that is connected to the wall switch and connect them to the relay?