Best Practices - Powering Lighting Projects and other hardware help?

I'm relatively new to this, and I was wondering how people have been powering their battery powered projects, as well as what kind of batteries/hardware to use.

To start off with, I have two projects in mind:

Project A:
1 controller controlling a strip of 30 WS2813 LEDs:

• 5V system
  • Needs to be low size/weight and/or balanced
  • Bluetooth controlled color sequence (to choose colors)
  • Ideally 1-3 hour life on a full charge
  • Expecting impacts (There may be some protection hardware to protect against it)

Project B:
1 Controller controlling 1-3 RGB lights (depending on luminescence)

• 5V system
  • doesn't have to be as restricted as above project, but should be reasonably handheld
  • Potential to act as a spare USB battery

I am planning on using DFRobotic's Beetle BLE for both projects (for size)

I'm not entirely sure what the best way of powering both these components would be:

1. Is having AA batteries in parallel and Converted/Regulated to 5V the best option?
  2. Should I worry about using LiPos in these projects as they are a much more fragile/finicky type of battery that requires a significant amount of attention?
  3. Should I worry about the current drain of the microcontroller itself and provide circuitry for turning on and off the microcontroller?

Thanks in advance!

PS: Do these things have native onboard read/write capabilities, or do I need an SD card or something to write/read from a text file? (For example, if I wanted to change the lights in project A to have a purple pattern, from a fully white pattern, is it possible to have the change persist upon restart of the microcontroller?)

Hello Daigle43,

To answer your questions: