Bluetooth SMD Module RN-42 Project

Hey guys,
I am extremely new to Arduino programming and its use in general as well as new to circuitry. But, basically I am working on a relatively straightforward project where I am using the RN-42 chip to communicate with an android phone (i've designed an app). Basically, if you lose your phone I want to be able to press a button which will send a signal to the app and which will then trigger a notification on your phone. My question here is basically where I should start with the Arduino/if I need a microcontroller. I don't know how to set up the RN-42 with the Arduino in the slightest and any help would be greatly appreciated.
Please don't hesitate to ask questions or give any recommendations at all.
Thanks!

Hi,

Can you provide a link to the particular RN42 module you're using?

Geoff

I apologize for the delayed response! This is the module we are using: Bluetooth SMD Module - RN-42 (v6.15) - WRL-12574 - SparkFun Electronics. We have figured out how to deliver a power supply to the module using an Arduino Uno with some relatively simple soldering. I am, however, quite confused with how to send a signal from the module to the application that we are developing for Android. For example, if someone were to press a button that were hard wired to the Arduino, how could I have that button press result in a specific signal being sent to the phone? Thanks again for the reply!
Cheers

Hi,

The bluetooth module is a serial device. Presuming you connect it to the Arduino’s hardware RX/TX pins (bluetooth TX-Arduino RX & RX-TX) you can transmit data from the Arduino out the bluetooth module using standard Serial library commands like write, print & println. If you use IO pins other than D0 & D1 then you’d use software serial, and those related commands will do the job.