CAN Bus Messages

I am completely new to Arduino and wanted some help and guidance on a CANBUS project I want to do. Any help and advice would be very much appreciated.

I want to connect to CAN-H and CAN-L wires of my car that is already has the correct 60 ohm resistance and I want to filter and listen for certain messages/frames (whatever it is called). I want to be listening in a mode that doesn’t send any data back so the car doesn’t detect it as a rogue node. Once a message/frame matching my filter is received I want to somehow convert that to a equivalent message to send to a completely different CANBUS. So basically the listening CANBUS and the transmitting CANBUS are two different networks not connected together.

I’ve read a lot of mention about CAN shield and Arduino. There seems to be a few different models of Arduino. Will a Arduino UNO work? how does CAN Shield and Arduino link up?

Any suggestions or guidance will be much appreciated.

Thanks

What data rate (baud) is the CAN bus, 500 kbps or something else?
Do you have a CAN bus analyser?
Do you have an oscilloscope?

I suspect that an Uno with two CAN bus adaptors such as the MCP2515 is going to be too slow for your application.
Perhaps investigate the Due or Teensy as faster alternatives.

The DUE embeddes 2 CANs. All you have to do is adding 3.3V CAN transceivers and upload the CAN library for the DUE from collin80.

Note that for short cables (length < 2 meters) and for first tests, you don’t even need transceivers (see Application Note 2921 from Siemens).

I've had my fair share of CAN-BUS and arduino already and here's my 2 cents:

I'm using arduino nano and MCP2515's from ebay. Yes, it is fast enough for two CAN-Transceivers and this is the library I am using: GitHub - coryjfowler/MCP_CAN_lib: MCP_CAN Library

You need to find out the speed of the CAN-Bus you are trying to listen to. What year/make/model is your car? I might give you a headstart for what I know.