Can the Arduino UNO be connected to an LCD & a speaker at the same time?

Hello,

I am building a project for school with the Arduino UNO. I am very new to this whole process but I am a quick learner and open to any and all suggestions.

My issue is I believe I bought the wrong board for my project. My goal is to wire an LCD display, a speaker for sound output and a switch board. I would like to program the the switches to play a certain sound through the speakers when turned on. Also, at the same time, I would like to have the LCD display the name representing that sound. When the switch is turned off the sound stops and the LCD message disappears.

These are my questions:

Is this possible with the ARDUINO UNO?

If so, How many switches and sounds could I wire and program?

If want to play sounds that are longer than 10 seconds would the arduino UNO be capable or would i need an SD card with its own module?

I want to thank you in advance for any support or guidance you provide.

Arduinos can't run speakers you need to find a sound card of some kind.

Mark

https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/toneMultiple

You can play small speakers not very loud or you can wire 2 speakers output to a -snip- salvaged stereo cable and plug into powered PC speakers or hack the cable of one such. Check 2nd hand stores for speakers or take $20 to Walmart and see how much change you can get.

What resistors to use between Arduino and stereo input? The speakers use 100 ohms plus whatever the speaker coil acts as while the impedance on the stereo jack in unknown to me but probably much less, I would start with 10K ohms and work down till I got enough sound.

You can use Arduino pins with resistors to control cheap transistors to carry many times the current that a pin can supply.

Eventually you can use a piezo speaker.

For multiple long sounds I'd recommend a MP3 player module.

This was very helpful thank you.