capacitor charge duration

hello everyone, I'm a beginner with electronics. I am trying to experiment with the charging and discharging of a capacitor. Each time it is charged, a led lights up. When charging the led emits a slight light. If I wanted a brighter light how could I do? Does it make sense to put a transistor in it to amplify the current?

This depends on your code & wiring - please post both.

i am not using codes. I am trying to use components on breadboard without arduino or similar

Show your schematic and try to describe what you are trying to achieve.

chucky831:
hello everyone, I'm a beginner with electronics. I am trying to experiment with the charging and discharging of a capacitor. Each time it is charged, a led lights up. When charging the led emits a slight light. If I wanted a brighter light how could I do? Does it make sense to put a transistor in it to amplify the current?

A little addition to your education. A capacitor is never fully charged or fully discharged. It's a time thing. Usually when the current into or out of a capacitor is reduced to about 95% of it's initial value, it is considered fully charged/discharged. Many circuits use a smaller percentage to indicate fully charged/discharged. All depends on what you are designing for.
Paul

RC time constant i.e. A 1000uF capacitor and a 1K resistor will discharge to 63% of the original voltage in 1 second.

The discharge curve is the opposite of an "ideal battery". It discharges quickly at first and levels-off the more it's discharged. And an LED will be "worse" because LEDs are non-linear with lower resistance at higher voltage. (There should always be a current-limiting resistor in series with the LED.*)

If I wanted a brighter light how could I do?

A bigger capacitor, smaller resistor, or higher voltage. (A bigger capacitor won't actually make it brighter but it might be flashing full-brightness too quickly for your eye to perceive it.)