Capacitors causing noisy potentiometer readings

Hi

I have an Arduino project where I'm using a max7219 IC to control a 2-digit 7-segment display. I followed the circuit tutorial HERE:

It works great, even though I don't fully understand what the capacitors are doing in this example as I'm fairly new to electronics.

The problem I'm having is that in the same project I have a potentiometer that's sharing the same 5V source, and the capacitors are causing noise and therefore resulting in fluctuating values.

How do I go about avoiding this since the arduino only has the one 5V source?

Those look like simple power supply bypass caps. Did I miss another one? How did you reach the conclusion that the capacitors are causing noise? It doesn't make sense.

Edit - hold on, I just read that all again. There isn't enough information here. We need to see a schematic so that we don't get bogged down in generalities.

We have no idea what the potentiometer does, or how it is connected. Or what the rest of the system looks like.

I removed the capacitors and the pot is smooth (but of course the 7-seg doesn’t work) so I know it’s the caps causing the noise.

I didn’t make a schematic, I just went straight to the board, but here’s a pic.

The pot is connected to the same 5V source and I’m reading it off A0 input.

Hi,
Ops pic.

Thanks....Tom... :slight_smile:

Hi,
If the way you can tell there is noise is because of the display, then how do you know when you remove the caps and have no display?

I removed the capacitors and the pot is smooth (but of course the 7-seg doesn't work) so I know it's the caps causing the noise.

Put a 100uF on the 5V supply on the protoboard, see if that makes a difference.
In your code you should have a brightness control, decrease that.

The fact that removing the caps results in no display is worrying.

The noise will be coming from your 9217 and the display multiplexing.

Please draw your circuit and post a picture of it.

Tom... :slight_smile: