Change I2C address OLED

Hi,
I have 2 OLEDs I want to connect to arduino using I2C. They are the same, and I don't see any obvious way to change the I2C address (but I'm no expert). Any ideas?

It's these;

1 Like

Your link shows a different pcb to the one in your photo.

Your photo has an unmounted R5. I suspect that this is for 3.3V operation i.e. to bypass the AMS1117-3.3 regulator.

There is no obvious way to access the address pin.

If you want two 128x32 pictures, I would buy a 128x64 display. And render both pictures on the same screen.

I have the 128x32 pcb shown in your link. There is no way to alter the Slave Address on that pcb.

Incidentally, these OLEDs take very little current. They will "work" with 3.3V on the VCC pin without bothering to bypass the regulator.

David.

1 Like

Hi,

I didn't find the exact one on amazon, it has been removed, but those are almost the same (perhaps should have written that...).
I don' want 1 big screen, I want 2 screens displaying different kinds of data and physically located at different locations.

What about implementing an AND gate (or other similar logic) to select the specific display using additional pins? Turning it in a "chip select"

1 Like

Yes, you can do that. But it would be much easier with two slaves: 0x3C and 0x3D.

You could dismantle one 128x32. Access the ribbon connections.

Or buy one 128x64. Change to 0x3D. Use 0x3C 128x32 in one location. And 128x64 in the other location.

David.

1 Like

Unfortunately, using one that's 64 lines high would make my final product too big.

Alternatively, there might be another way to solve it by looking at the big picture. I want to connect 2 arduinos and have the 2 OLEDs to display information from each one respectively. My initial idea was to connect the 2 arduinos and the 2 OLEDs using I2C (can't use SPI because I need the pins for the peripherals, but I might have 1-2 pis to spare on each board). Any ideas from that perspective?

1 Like