Circuit tripper / breaker..?

Can't think of the right name to label this... but I have a question about a project in mind. This may not even be something suitable for Arduino but I just wanted to see what you guys thought.

So I work in the Forklift Battery/Charger industry and there's a certain charger out there that when a component goes bad in it it blows the A/C fuses. Now the bad part about this is that there are 3 of these components in each charger, and the A/C fuses do not blow in any kind of pattern to indicate which of the 3 are bad. So in order to diagnose you have to remove all 3 from circuit, put in new fuses and plug one in at a time until it pops the fuses and you know that it's bad now.

So my goal is to be able to create some kind of box that I could put in between this circuit to where it trips / catches that feedback to stop it from blowing the fuses and tell me we have a short.

The reason I don't know if this can be done in Arduino is that we are talking about 600v 30Amp midget style fuses.

Let me know what you guys think, thanks!

Well as long as you can think of a way to detect failure in that unspecified component of the unspecified charger (maybe by detecting when the current goes over a limit?) you could have the Arduino switch a relay, breaking the circuit, hopefully faster than that your fuse blows.

Otherwise you could get resettable fuses.

Hi,

Now the bad part about this is that there are 3 of these components in each charger,

Rectifier Diode?
Capacitor?
Varistor?
IGBT?

Is it an Automatic Charger, make /model?

Knowing the type of component that causes ALL three fuses to blow will help with any answers.

A picture of the part will help.

Tom... :slight_smile:

We just use a test lamp. Dull ok, bright, short. Other than that there are fuses with indicators.

Back in the old days, such devices would have a NE2 neon bulb in series with a 100k resistor across the fuse. When fuse opens, the neon light will glow.

Paul

bluejets: