Communication Between 2 Ultrasonic Sensors

Hello guys, I’m still a newbie when it comes to microcontrollers and sensors so I need all the help that I could get. Thanks in advance for your replies. :slight_smile:

So here’s the thing. I have 2 ultrasonic sensors attached to separate microcontrollers. Thing is I have desoldered the receiver on the other one and transmitter on the other so what’s left is only the receiver and transmitter (see attached photo). I want the transmitter to constantly send ping and the receiver to just listen to that ping so that I could measure the distance between them. However, with the codes I have tried (see attached file), I only get constant 0in,0cm and with the other setup I get constant 1335in, 400-ish cm values. Is there something I’m missing out? Are there codes in the newping I should try?

Thanks!

Ultrasonic.jpg

RX.doc (27 KB)

TX.doc (27 KB)

ultratx.doc (27 KB)

ultrarx.doc (28 KB)

The ping requires you to know when it left the transmitter, so that you can see how long it took to arrive at the receiver.

How does your second controller know when the transmitter started transmitting?

I haven't thought of that tho. Doesn't ultrasonic sensors work that way? When you transmit a pulse, automatically the receiver would process that pulse as to where it came from with the aid of the board. If not, then shall I do a slave/writer setup to overcome that problem?

Anyway here is the inspiration of this query: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZAU9mYeDYA

When you transmit a pulse, automatically the receiver would process that pulse as to where it came from with the aid of the board.

No that is not how it works.

You need the transmitter to send another signal to say a pulse is on its way by radio or IR. Then you can time how long the sound takes to arrive after that.

Hi, Text under YouTube;

(Concept does require the Transmitter on the Receiver Ping to be manually removed.)

Also