Complete beginner trying to make my stepper motor work......power troubles

Hello everyone !

This is my first post and my first ever attempt with using Arduino to make anything.

I am using

NEMA23 56x54mm Bipolar Stepper Motor-(200 steps 3V 2A D:6.35mm 1/4'')

A4988 Stepper Driver

Arduino UNO

I have uploaded the code to the Arduino to make motor spin one way then spin the other way .

I followed this diagram for the wiring

So... the problem i am finding is that when i connect it to power the motor just vibrates and dose not spin.... it dose vibrate in intervals what makes me think the code is working.

I am powering the thing by putting a dc adapter into my breadboard and plugging into that.

Now i may be answering my own questions but could this problem happen from under powering ? I am currently using a 5V 2A barrel supply.

Would under powering cause it to just vibrate and not spin? and if this the case what size barrel power supply should i use for max performance from the motor ??

Or if it dose not sound like it is the power supply what could the problem be?

Any advice would be awesome! I am a carpenter so this is all very new to me haha

cheers all !

Underpowered.

12V with at least 2A available will work well.

Also try driving at a very slow speed to start.

woah thanks for your quick reply! Thats great i was hoping it was going to be that simple :slight_smile:

Can i adjust the speed by turning the little screw on the motor driver ?

Im going to be making pulley powered bellows for a art installation.. i can post the project up when/if i get it to work :slight_smile:

Hi,

How did you decide what motor wires to connect to which driver pins?

A stepper that vibrates but does not rotate properly often means the motor windings are not connected properly to the driver.

HI Terry

thanks for your reply