Connecting multiple LEDs in parallel

Hi there,

Newbie here. I am building a model railway layout and have built the control panel. I have 16 signals on the layout, and mimicked on the control panel. There are 4 banks of 4 DPDT switches with corresponding red & green LEDs which mimic the LEDs on the signal heads. The LEDs on the panel are ALL wired in parallel with “K” leg going to -ve and the “A” leg going through the switches. All in all there are 68 LEDs - yes 68! I have calculated that I need a 7.1324Ohm resistor, however the wattage of the resistor is 13.192 Watts! I know 16 x 4 does not equal 68! But here are master switches controlling street lighting, buildings, etc. That is where the other 4 LEDs come into play.

BTW the voltage is 12VDC. I also have point controls - turnouts to those in Nth America - that will be supplied from 15VDC. Would I be better off using 4 sets of resistors - 1 on each bank of switches. Online calculator tells me that the resistor value would be 30.1325Ohms @ 3.104 Watts and would it be better to have the resistor before or after the LED?

I am attaching files of the control panel and the wiring diagram. On both files the bank of 16 switches are circled in RED and the 4 extra switches are circled in BLUE.

They are not wired in parallel if they are each connected to a switch. Parallel is when all anodes are connected and all cathodes are connected. They all light together.

You cannot use one series R for the lot. If you only have one LED on then the R is far too small. You need a series R for each LED.

If there are groups that come on together, they should also have their own R to distribute the current evenly if wired in parallel. Better still, use series/parallel strings.

Weedpharma

Ok thanks for your reply. The second attachment didn't go through so I will send it with this post. I will digest what you said, and get back to you.

Thanks again

ianb26: