Connecting two Arduino's to a single pc

Greetings!

I am currently controlling two LED 16x32 screens. One of the screens is controlled by a Chinese controller BX5-MK1 which I hate to use and wish to replace. Other is currently controlled using Arduino Uno with the DMD library.
I have searched youtube but didn't find anything of such sort. The only thing I found was connecting the Arduinos' themselves and communicating through serial.

Currently, both of these controllers receive data through a python script from a PC they're connected to. They keep count and do a +1 when a specific file appears on the PC.
I really wish to replace the Chinese controller as it's pain to configure and malfunctions a lot.

the problem is, that the PC they're connected to, only has a single USB port (NVIDIA Jetson TX1) meaning I would have to use a splitter but I have no knowledge about splitting the data flow between the two.

Can someone please explain would it be possible to make a python script that switches between the two USB ports? Or the reasonable way to approach this would be to Connect the Arduinos themselves? Also, does the jumper cable length impact this? The cable would have to be ~35cm.

Kind regards, lego.

You can buy something like trendnet-7-port-high-speed-usb-hub-w-power-adapter. Make sure you buy a powered one and that it's USB2.

I'm not a Python person but I'm 99.99% sure that you can open two serial ports in python.

Indeed you can, just create 2 Serial objects, setting one to each port.

I'm guessing the Jumper cable length doesn't impact anything then...?

And could I instead of a powered USB splitter use a 5V PSU and connect both Arduino's to it somehow?

Very thankful for both of your answers, @er_name_not_found, and @sterretje . At least I now know that I could achieve my vision.

For Uno, Mega and Leonardo, you can NOT power them from a 5V PSU and USB at the same time.

Is there a reason why you want to power them from 5V instead of USB?