Considering Arduino for showcasing an industrial-automation platform

Hello, everybody,

This will be my introductory posting (I did not see a subforum specifically for that purpose) and at the same time I'll ask my first questions in it. In case this is misdirected, I'd appreciate some guidance.

I am a professional engineer currently looking to hit a few targets at once. A little background: I started programming in the 1980's on whatever platform I could get my hands on. I first did professional work on microcontrollers a decade ago (PIC) but have mostly stuck with microcomputer programming (Windows). I am currently developing an industrial-automation platform featuring high-performance distributed processing with data acquisition, signal processing, user-defined test execution and systems control. It is almost ready and I'm entering the testing stages. We use expensive input/output devices and high-end sensors and effectors (like megawatt regenerative AC motor vector drives) but I've had some unorthodox ideas that lead me here.

It is a little inconvenient to do software verification and validation on such systems. It is also impossible to take such system to a trade show where the new software would be showcased. But the geek in me would very much like a small, versatile system with similar functionality. Having been to many trade shows, it appears that most professionals are like me - judging from how the booths with the outrageous gadgets attract the most visitors.