Controlling 24V 250W DC Motor with Arduino Uno

Hello dear friends,

I'm trying to create and program a joystick to control an electric wheelchair whose two motors are 24V 250W DC motors. They also draw a current of 15.8A (according to their label).
I'm still a beginner with Arduino and I've been watching videos on how to control 24V motors with Arduino Uno and they all recommended using the L298N driver. So I've been trying it twice and it burnt in the second time, where I lately knew that it couldn't handle this huge current, knowing that I'm using a 24V 20A DC battery (I know, don't blame me it's a very unforgivable mistake).

Anyway, is there any other possible way to control these massive current-drawing motors without burning any component, using Arduino Uno?

I found this method using relays, MOSFET and transistors:

I'll try it but I'm afraid I won't be able to connect it to my code to generate the desired results I want.

Any help would be appreciated! Thank you all :slight_smile:

AyaAj:
Hello dear friends,

I'm trying to create and program a joystick to control an electric wheelchair whose two motors are 24V 250W DC motors. They also draw a current of 15.8A (according to their label).
I'm still a beginner with Arduino and I've been watching videos on how to control 24V motors with Arduino Uno and they all recommended using the L298N driver.

The L298 cannot handle even a fraction of the current of these large motors. Its good for small motors
only.

So I've been trying it twice and it burnt in the second time, where I lately knew that it couldn't handle this huge current, knowing that I'm using a 24V 20A DC battery (I know, don't blame me it's a very unforgivable mistake).

That will be 20Ah capacity battery, not a 20A battery. It may of may not be able to handle 20A, that's something
to look up in the datasheet for the battery.