Controlling 5 axis CNC using arduino and mach3

Hi everyone. I'm brazilian and my english is not very good, so i ask sorry if i write something wrong.

I'm a mecanichal engineering student with few knowledgement about eletronics and trying to build a 5 axis cnc milling machine. I wanna use SolidCAM to generate the GCode, Mach3/4 to controll the machine and Arduino Mega to send the sinal for stepper motors. I would like to know if anyone had ever done this and to get some tips about it. I'm afraid to spend money with this gadgets and they don't work well.

A "motion controller" board such as the smoothstepper contains an FPGA. Will a design based on a microcontroller have enough processing power?

What sort of output does Mach send to the Arduino ?

What is the maximum collective number of steps per second you will need ?

...R Stepper Motor Basics Serial Input Basics

I have just little knowledgement about eletronics and I'm not able to answer these questions. I made the mechanical design of the machine and now i'm trying to learn something to make the electronics. I know that the stepper motors need 500 ppr, the Arduino needs to receive/send signal to 5 motors, their microswitches and the spindle.

my experience with mach 3 is that it sent individual steps to each stepper when it needed to, thats why it was rooted deeply into the control computer. I would look into a dedicated control board for this application like this http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/5-Axis-CNC-Breakout-Board-Interface-For-Stepper-Motor-Driver-Board-ST-V2-stepper-controller/322449_1801916509.html

it provides the nessecary connections for the stepper drivers, limit switches, e-stops, and connection to the pc via usb or parallel

Bracer is correct. Mach3 uses the pins on the parallel port as general purpose IO pins and sends the step/dir/etc. signals that way. There's no place where an Arduino needs to fit in unless you have an out of the ordinary situation you need to handle.