Controlling an battery operated device using arduino

Hi all,

I am new with Arduino, I have a device that is powered by an AA battery. The device also has two buttons that change the modes of operation. I wish to power and control the device using Arduino. I have attached the picture for reference. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

Controlling the power to the device is as easy as using a relay but controlling the buttons depends on the circuit of the device. Can you establish what the buttons do ? It would be common for them to take a point in the circuit to either GND or 1.5V

What is the device ?

The device sends out electric pulses, the buttons control the frequency of pulses.

amshar05:
The device sends out electric pulses, the buttons control the frequency of pulses.

That's the most ambiguous explanation I've ever seen. You just described every remote control on the planet.

What is the mystery device and what does it control?

So you will need a mains power supply, such as a USB "phone charger" to power the Arduino to do this. OK?

@ SteveMann It is not a mystery device, it is just. a circuit that sends electric pulses and the buttons control the frequency of those pulses.

@Paul__B yes I understand that I would need to power the Arduino using a USB. My purpose here is to control the circuit using Arduino.

My purpose here is to control the circuit

A clumsy solution would be to use relays to mimic the action of pressing the buttons

Do you have any details of the circuit ?
Do you have any details of the output ? It may be possible to replace the whole thing with an Arduino rather than trying to control what you have

the output is current with intensity 0- 10mA
Pulse Width: 220microseconds
Pulse Modes: Continuous
Pulse Shape: Asymmetric Biphasic Square Wave

It looks to me like an Arduino could produce such an output

UKHeliBob:
It looks to me like an Arduino could produce such an output