Converting an array of digits to an integer

Hello, I’m trying to read using serial communication and use a value as an int,
so what I tried to do is place the incoming digits in an array of ints and turn the int array into one single number.
I tried to do that and I have realized that the algorithm is very simple but it didn’t work using the Arduino.
there is what I’ve tried.

int GetNum(int arr[]) {

int sum = 0;

for (int i = 0; i < sizeof(arr); i++) {

if (arr[i] != -99) { // represents a blank digit (the algorithm ingonrs that)
      sum += arr[i] * pow(10, (sizeof(arr) - i));
    }

}
  return sum;
}

I tried it with a debugging table and it worked, for some reason, it doesn’t work even when I try to print the function with predefined values in an array, I might have done something wrong with the algorithm because I’m pretty new to C++ I’m coming from the world of C#.

int GetNum(int arr[]) {

is the same as:

int GetNum(int *arr) {

The sizeof(int *) is 2 (bytes).

gfvalvo:

int GetNum(int arr[]) {

is the same as:

int GetNum(int *arr) {

The sizeof(int *) is 2 (bytes).

what do you mean? I just want to find out the size of the array how do I do that?

dindibo4: what do you mean?

I mean that a pointer to an int has a size of 2 bytes. Perhaps 4 bytes on a 32-bit machine.

dindibo4: I just want to find out the size of the array how do I do that?

Easiest way to tell the GetNum() function the size of the array is to pass it as a second parameter.

Also your conversion algorithm is horribly inefficient. This would be much better:

sum = 10 * sum + arr[i];

Another inefficiency is your use of an int array to hold a string of digits. A byte array would work.

gfvalvo: I mean that a pointer to an int has a size of 2 bytes. Perhaps 4 bytes on a 32-bit machine. Easiest way to tell the GetNum() function the size of the array is to pass it as a second parameter.

Also your conversion algorithm is horribly inefficient. This would be much better: