Converting from 5v Arduino to 3.3v - Component verification help please

Hi All,

I am moving code from a 5 volt Arduino to a Pro Mini 3.3v clone from Gikfun.

I am not really good with electronics and components but the info I found seems to suggest I will need to change some parts so they play well at 3.3v. With that in mind I reduced all the resistors down to 100 Ohms. The LEDs used to be at 330 Ohms and the one connected to the transistor was 1K.

Everything is working OK, but I want to make sure that I don't damage the XBee radio or the Pro Mini.
Could you all let me know if the schematics / components are OK or suggest replacement values for what is wrong.

thanks in advance.

Both the LEDs and the NPN transistor are current-driven devices. So you might to select the resistors so you get the same current through the LEDs and through the transistor's base as you did at 5V.

You would need to determine the voltage drop across an LED, which varies by color. If they are red, that would be about 1.8V. At 5V, red LED current was:

(5 - 1.8 ) / 330 = .0097A = 9.7mA

At 3.3V, it is now:

(3.3 - 1.8 ) / 100 = .015A = 15mA

So you are now drawing more current than you did at 5V. You might try changing them to 220 ohm resistors and see if the LEDs are still bright enough. Generally, you want the highest resistor values that still produce enough brightness.

At 5V, the transistor base current was:

(5 - .6 ) / 1000 = .0044A = 4.4mA

Now at 3.3V, it is:

(3.3 - .6 ) / 100 = .027A = 27mA

which is way too much, and just wastes power and heats up your Mini. A 560 ohm resistor should be plenty. In fact, leaving it at 1K would also probably work.

I confess I don't understand what your Schottky diode circuit is all about.