Converting sound to light

Hi Firstly this year i need do to a end of year project in my sound course, i have been exploring several potential ideas and through my research i discovered arduino. I have no experience in electronics or this area, and firstly i need to understand what kind of capabilities arduino software and hardware.

So since sound and light are both expressed in frequencies i thought it would be a interesting project to have a literal sinestesia of sound or the other way round, since im in a arts course specializing in sound it could also be interesting translating famous paintings into sound. Now this raises a couple of issues since light is expressed in terahertz and sound being maximum in khz i would need to make a translation of these low frequencies into terahertz, so this would require a certain level of programming which honestly i dont have much experience in this area and i would first like some feedback if this would be possible.

Thanks in advance for your time

First, you might look at some existing sound-activated dance-lighting effects to give you an idea of what’s been done and what can be done. [u]Chauvet[/u] is a popular manufacturer of DJ lighting, and they have videos on their website.

I’ve built a few sound-activated effects over the years including a couple of recent ones built-around the Arduino. If you search a bit, you should be able to find some examples showing you how to detect sound with the Arduino, and how to control various types of lighting.

The effects I made are simply activated by the loudness/beat with various randomized color changes, or various sequencing “chase” effects.

But, you can also analyze the frequency using something called FFT (Fast Fourier Transform). There is something called a "spectrum analyzer. Using FFT, you can make a spectrum analyzer, which can be an interesting “effect”, or you can build something based on a spectrum analyzer.