Creating a Camera Pan/Tilt head with DC Geared Motors & Xbox Style thumbstick

I’m completely new to the Arduino community, so I only know the few basics!

I’m trying to make a pan/tilt system for a camera jib/crane using an Uno board, with this motor controller: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Big-Bargain-Stepper-Controller-Arduino/dp/B00AAYOIEK/ref=reg_hu-rd_add_1_dp and 2x Geared DC Motors (6V, 20RPM) which obviously I have to power separately from the Arduino Uno board.

What I’m trying to achieve is to be able to control the speed and direction each motor shaft with a joystick/thumbstick (the Xbox 360 styled ones), possibly with another potentiometer somewhere to control the speed even further. It’s pretty much the same as David Holmes on Youtube is doing http://youtu.be/1Avm4blyp7Y here.

My Arduino Uno came in the post today so I’ve been programming for the past few hours. I think I’m on the right track with the following code:

int pan = 3;
int tilt = 5;

int VRpan = A0;
int VRtilt = A1;

int panval = 0;
int tiltval = 0;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(pan, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(tilt, OUTPUT);

pinMode(VRpan, INPUT);
  pinMode(VRtilt, INPUT);
}

void loop()
{
  panval = analogRead(VRpan);
  tiltval = analogRead(VRtilt);

if(panval < 502) //for the pan motor
  {
    //Rotate Clockwise
  }
  else if(panval > 522)
  {
   //Rotate Counterclockwise
  }
  else
  {
    //Release
  }

if(tiltval < 502)
  {
    //Rotate Clockwise
  }
  else if(tiltval > 522)
  {
    //Rotate Counterclockwise
  }
  else
  {
    //Release
  }
}

Basically, I want to know if the code looks okay so far, so that I know I’m on the right track! (again, I’m new to Arduino, I don’t know much about the code!)
I’m putting the X axis of the thumbstick potentiometer as an input to analog pin 0, and the Y axis of the thumstick/pot as an input to analog pin 1.