DC motor control using current sensing

Hello,
This is my first post in this fórum and I'm quite new to Arduino. However, I do have a relatively good knowledge in controls so Arduino really fascinates me. Sincé I never powered a motor I decided to start from there.

Here are my first questions: I bought an arduino shield R3 to drive a DC motor. The shield is powered by an external power supply that allows me to regulate voltage with good accuracy. The arduino board is powered via PC.
Today I was testing my code on a prototype: the idea is that the DC motor moves via a screw mechanism a plate in the axial direction. I want the plate to push with a certain forcé against a surface. Once the correct pressure has been reached the motor will start turning in the opposite direction and stop at the opposite end of the stroke. To measure the pressure I measure the current, and stop the motor once the current is high enough (cut off 1 amp).

• I'm using A0 to sense the current and the signal is very noisy. I've added a filter, and hopefully that will help, but is it normal that current sensing is so noisy? Maybe I should add a condenser on the motor?

• I have noticed that when the motor stops spinning but it still hasn't reached the cut off current the voltage on the motor is a lot lower (6-7 volts while the power supplies gives 18Volts). Is it normal?
    Maybe the motor driver draws a lot of energy when the motor doesn't spin? I should add that due to my pressure requirements the motor can stay a few seconds powered without reaching the required Amp.

• cutt off current is set at 1 Ah, so well below the nominal 2Amps, however after an hour or so of test the driver stopped working and it had a very high current draw even if the engine wasn't spinning. I will check tomorrow if it is damaged or just went in high temperature protection. is it normal that they overheat so easily or am I doing something wrong?

thanks
luca

Post a circuit diagram (hand drawn, not Fritzing).