Dc motor position control confusion

Hi

I'm a novice at writing code, so please be gentle with me.

I have a project that I need to do, and before I start spending hours going round in circles, I thought I'd ask for help.

I've been looking all over and can only seem to find examples for dc motor speed control, which all look too complicated for what I require.

So far, I can control the 12v DC motor in both directions using a h bridge. The bit that is confusing me, the motor has an encoder that generates a 0v to 5v squarewave.

What my aim is, is to first move the motor to its endstop then move it to it's other endstop and counter the number of pulses from the encoder then move the motor to it's mid position and store the positions.

After this has been done my aim is to control the motor position via a potentiometer.

Thanks

If you think DC motor speed control is too complicated then you're not ready for this project. DC motor position control really requires DC motor speed control (or at least keeping the motor at a pretty low speed whether electronically or through gearing) in order to work. It sounds simple, but in all but really trivial cases, it really isn't.

It may be easier to do what you require with a stepper motor.

Even if you count the square waves from the encoder how will you know that you have reached the end stop when you don't know where you started ? The encoder is only any use if you know where you are when you start counting and how many pulses there are per unit of length

I have to use the dc motor I have as it is part of a small gearbox which is what i want to control.

My thought was that if the arduino is looking for the pulses, then if it didn't see any pulses within a set period of time it stops the motor.

That sounds like a good idea but it is not a good idea to deliberately stall the motor as then it will take much more current than when running

A better idea would be to use limit switches to stop the motor at each end stop