DC Motor Speed control with potentiometer

Hi Experts,

I’m a NEWBIE started using Arduino with lot of dreams, To be true i’m not good in electronics but having so much eager to do something with arduino. This is my first post.

My first program is to control the DC motor speed using Potentiometer, I have attached the circuit diagram and the code bellow:

Here is my query: When i move the potentiometer to ZERO i can see the motor is spinning (Little slow). When i move the potentiometer to MAX i can see the motor is spinning (little fast).

My expectation is When the potentiometer is ZERO motor should not rotate and the speed should increase gradually once i move the potentiometer MAX. Please help where i’m wrong and what is the problem.

int serial = 0;
int motor = 9;
void setup () {
 pinMode(motor,OUTPUT);
 pinMode(serial,INPUT);
 Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop () {
 int sensorValue;
 sensorValue = analogRead(serial);
 delay(1000);
 float digitalValue = map(sensorValue, 0, 1023, 0, 255);
 Serial.println(digitalValue);
 analogWrite(motor,digitalValue);

}

ee176f98a7f7108e35c6aa553b09712631b14d86.jpg

########Code#####
int serial = 0;
int motor = 9;
void setup () {
  pinMode(motor,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(serial,INPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop () {
  int sensorValue;
  sensorValue = analogRead(serial);
  delay(1000);
  float digitalValue = map(sensorValue, 0, 1023, 0, 255);
  Serial.println(digitalValue);
  analogWrite(motor,digitalValue);

}

OP’s image:
ee176f98a7f7108e35c6aa553b09712631b14d86.jpg

If you want to learn, two things.
a) Start by reading How to use the forum before posting. Please edit you post to use code tags.
b) After this, never ever again post a Fritzing breadboard diagram. They are useless. Just (learn to) make a real diagram.

Onto the program:

motor isn’t a very good variable name. It should tell exactly what it does. Not to mention serial… Huh?! Also, no need for a int (byte will do) and you never what to change it so const.