DC motors wont run

Hi, I'm fairly new to Arduino and I'm having trouble running 4 dc gearbox motors that run at the same time. The motors say they run at 3V-6V which I am also confused on. I'm running the motors off a L293D motor shield that's powered with 4 AAA batteries that are 1.5V each. I mounted the shield on top of my Arduino UNO that's powered off a 9V battery. I removed the jumper off of the motor shield too. When I try running it with only 1 motor, it works fine. But when I try 2 or more, the motors are too slow to spin the wheel attached to them. Do I need to supply the shield with more voltage? If so, what would be a good source?

Show us a good schematic of your circuit.
Show us a good image of your wiring.
Give links to components.
Posting images:

Use CTRL T to format your code.
Attach your ‘complete’ sketch between code tags, use the </> icon in the posting menu.
[code]Paste your sketch here[/code]

You almost certainly need more voltage and also more powerful batteries than weedy little AAAs. Try 6 x AA NiMH rechargeable batteries which are able to supply much more current. The ancient inefficient L293D loses 2-3V of what you are supplying before it ever gets to the motors.

Steve

MoeMan: Hi, I'm fairly new to Arduino and I'm having trouble running 4 dc gearbox motors that run at the same time. The motors say they run at 3V-6V which I am also confused on. I'm running the motors off a L293D motor shield that's powered with 4 AAA batteries that are 1.5V each. I mounted the shield on top of my Arduino UNO that's powered off a 9V battery. I removed the jumper off of the motor shield too. When I try running it with only 1 motor, it works fine. But when I try 2 or more, the motors are too slow to spin the wheel attached to them. Do I need to supply the shield with more voltage? If so, what would be a good source?

The problem is your batteries cannot supply a high enough current. Motors use loads of current.