Design Guideline Help

Hello all!

I am pretty new to PCB design. I am using Kicad and I have taken another user’s board the he posted here and redesigned it to open up some space for more components. Learning Kicad was fun.

I have attached a picture of the top of the board and the back of the board

I have crammed all of the components on the opposite side of the chip ATSAM3X8E, and I was wondering if by doing this I will incur the wrath of a signal interference from the chip on the other side. For example, there is a crystal and a resonator that are on the reverse side of the CPU, will the normal operation of these be affected by the chip?

In general, are there design guidelines I should be following for placement of components? This is something I have had no experience with.

Thanks!

Probably no effect. Those frequencies are relatively low so they shouldn’t radiate too much interference. If you were really worried, go to a 4-layer board with a full ground plane on one layer.

Is there a reason why you have a ground plane on one part of the board? Sprinkle a few vias in the tracks that are constraining that copper pour and let it spread out to cover more of your board. Let it get under the crystal if you can.

I don’t see any silkscreen in those renderings. Make sure you label the reset and erase buttons in a way that’s visible in the manufactured PCB. In the worst case, use copper tracks to write the words.

I’ve already used up most of my PCB layout advice in this thread.

Thanks for the reply.

The ground plane shown in the pictures is actually a VSSA plane, which only covers the analog pins and traces. Maybe this is something that helps isolate the analog lines? Would that make any sense?