Determine capacitor for 433mhz RF module

Hello,

I am new to electronics and I have a simple circuit involving some programmable LED's and an RF module. Everything is hooked up to a regulated 5v DC power supply capable (bench type) that delivers a max of 1A.

When I turn on the LED's I get less range on the RF. The more amps those leds draw, the less range I get. When I turn the LED's super dim everything works fine.

What can I do to fix this? Should I use a capacitor? I have put some capacitors in the circuit, one next to the RF and another one next to the LED strip, it has made some difference but not a lot. I have a collector of electrolytical and regular capacitors at my disposal.

Can you help? If capacitors are the answer than I would like to learn how to determine the capacitor required in the circuit.

Thanks a bunch

The power supply may be inadequate and its voltage is dropping. If so, a capacitor won't help.

If power supply noise is the problem, you can try using a decoupling filter: put a 10 Ohm resistor followed by a 100 uF capacitor (to ground) in the V+ line to the transmitter module.decouple.png

Thank you. I tried the second suggestion and I noticed that this really makes a difference, thanks. However the problem still persists, and I am back to suggestion one. With the multimeter I discovered that the voltage greatly varied per color and brightness, causing the RF module to fail because this one (el cheapo) is very reliant on 5v.

I've tried a few different power supplies but each and every one I try has this problem. What can I do to stabilize the 5v on the RF module? Why is this voltage dropping? I am still below 1A according to the bench power supply.

Thanks again.