Distance between Arduino and sensor(s)?

Hi,
I'm very new to Arduino and honestly I haven't yet accomplished anything with it yet.
But that doesn't put down my ambitions :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:
I have in mind a project that involves one master Arduino Uno and one or more secondary Arduinos Nano to be used in the car (which typically means noise).

My question is this: If I want to use few sensors e.g. thermal sensors and tilt sensors (like "GY-85 sensor module ITG3200/ITG3205 ADXL345 HMC5883L") does distance between arduino and sensor is a problem?
Of course I understand that more distance - more noise and more wire resistance. But I have no idea of scale of the problem. Can I count that distance 3-4 meters for this sensors is ok? Or not? There are digital and analog sensors, which one should I prefer when taking into account this kind of distances? If these distances are problem then is there a solution to work around the problem?

And secondary question if I may: If I want to use few thermal sensors, is there a existing easy way to calibrate those? And more importantly to store that calibration data into arduino software?

Thank you guys!

Sensors that use I2C or SPI communications, like the ADXL345, are generally limited to very short connecting cables (a few cm).

Other types of sensors, like temperature sensors, can have much longer cables (many meters).

I know nothing about gyros, but I imagine cable distance would be the least of your problems. With the possible exception of the exhaust manifold, the DS18B20 temperature sensor should cover anything in a car. They are digital and don't need calibration. They can be bought complete with 5m cable.