DMX Relay

I want to try to build a DMX relay, but I really don't know where to start. I've never used Arduino before, but I have been around a lot of electronics and a lot of programming so I want this to be both a learning project, and a usable project.

In my school's theatre we have many DMX cables to control all our house and stage lights, the lights can be controlled from two different locations. the vestibules or the lighting booth, and in order to change which location the lights can be controlled, we have to physically go plug, and un plug the wires and switch the patch around. In order to avoid this, I have been trying to think of a relay that takes both of the DMX lines from the booth and the vestibules and "decides" which one to relay to the lights. The way i was thinking is if there is no signal from the booth (the light board being turned OFF) then route the signal from the vestibules to the lights, and if the DMX cable from the board is active, then route the signal from the booth to the lights.

I hope this makes sense, I'm not sure how else to explain it. This is to avoid having to manually flip a switch or to manually un plug and plug back in different DMX cables.

I know you can buy things that do this, but the reason I am looking to make it is because I really want to get into arduino, and to save money.

So there are two DMX signals coming from the vestibules and the lighting booth, and I want to make an arduino and program it to "patch" one cable through to the lights, or the other depending on a set of parameters.

I was hoping you guys could shed some light on this because I have been looking around and thinking and thinking about it and haven't come up with much anything.

Thanks

Good project idea... the commercial dmx mergers around over $1000 (but also offer other useful features, two desks at once, LTP/HTP etc)